Apologies for the disruption folks!

When I was a student at university, networking with PR professionals, one thing they always told me was how fast-paced working in the communications industry was. I don’t think I fully appreciated just how fast-paced things would be until I got my feet under the table at my very first job.

And while everything changes (sometimes so quickly, it’s happens in a bit of a whirlwind, and it takes a little while to fully get your head around what has just happened), some things remain the same…

So to quote one of my favourite films (Dirty Dancing if you didn’t know): “Apologies for the disruption folks!

In my last post, I told you that Raising the Profile would be making a comeback, and while there has been a slight delay, I can assure you that behind the scenes things are rocking and rolling to make sure that by the time you return (or perhaps even start if you’re a newbie to the PR student scene) to university in September, a fresh batch of PR professionals will be on hand to share with you their pearls of wisdom about how they found their first job in public relations and marketing communications.

So why the delay?

Well… within a couple of days of my last post, I was approached by an integrated brand communications consultancy called r//evolution, to join the team as their PR manager.

Of course, I jumped at the chance – what a great opportunity! So over the past few months, I’ve been busy getting to know the team, familiarising myself with clients and growing the PR offering of the business, as well as spending some time at the University of Sunderland giving a couple of guest lectures (more on that in a later post).

Enough about me though. What do you need to know about the return of Raising the Profile?

The first of the interviews will be posted to my blog in the New Year – just after the Christmas break when people’s thoughts turn to impending graduation and (eeeek!) finding a job!.

This time round, the subjects of the interview (and people sharing their pearls of wisdom) will be my fellow cohort of post-grad students, who graduated alongside me back in 2012 from the CIPR accredited MA Public Relations degree, at the University of Sunderland.

I hope you’ll be as excited as I am about the return of Raising the Profile. If I say so myself (then again, I am probably a little bias), this is a great opportunity for you to pick the brains of PR professionals who were in your shoes only a few months ago. Ask questions, network, and find out how you too can land your first job in PR!

I hope you’ll pop back on Monday 6th October (of course, it would be lovely if you stopped by my blog before then) to check out the first of the interviews, and I look forward to chatting with you on Wednesday 8th October across Twitter too. Until then, have a great summer!

1 thought on “Apologies for the disruption folks!

  1. Pingback: Those burning questions… | Raising the Profile

Leave a comment